SKETCHY CALL FORCES DRAW FOR S2

0

It looked as though the Sounders S2 were going to escape with a 2-1 victory on Sunday, Sept. 2, at Cheney Stadium. With six minutes remaining in regulation, Shandon Hopeau snared a pass from veteran David Estrada with his chest, pushed the ball past the defense and slammed a shot into the back of the Orange County SC net. However, the assistant referee called off the goal, claiming that Hopeau had touched the ball with his arm. Replay of the situation didn’t hold up for the referee’s call, and S2 had a possibly victory snatched from them in the 1-1 draw. S2 returns to Cheney Stadium on Saturday, Sept. 15, to host Phoenix Rising FC at 7 p.m.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To stay updated with all the latest news, and offers.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.