Judas Priest Rocked Kent’s ShoWare Center April 15


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

ShoWare Center in Kent on the night of Sunday, April 15, was the place to be for fans that wanted to witness the much-anticipated return of the metal band Judas Priest, who have not been to Washington state since playing the Tacoma Dome in 2014. The curtain opened with lead singer Rob Halford, wearing a tasseled, gold leather jacket with the word “Firepower” emblazoned across the back. He stood facing the drummer as the throb of heavy rock music began to echo through the arena. Regarded by their fans as metal gods, the band members of Judas Priest have been bringing their unique and popular sound to cheering crowds for more than 40 years. “Firepower,” the group’s 18th album, was one of the top anticipated albums to be released in 2018. The album debut was fifth on Billboard and the highest ranking in the band’s history.

Having sold more than 50 million albums worldwide, Judas Priest has had several lineup changes over the years, with Halford and bass player Ian Hill remaining from the early years. Travis Scott, formally of Thin Lizzy, now plays drums for the group. On guitar, Richie Faulkner replaced K.K. Downing in 2011. In February, guitarist Glenn Tipton announced a Parkinson’s diagnosis and Andy Sneap, co-producer of the “Firepower” album, stepped in to lend his guitar playing skills to the group. The much-loved Tipton did, however, join the band for a three-song encore on Sunday evening. Judas Priest, known for Halford’s multi octave power vocals and the shredding dueling guitars, have kept pace with the recent lineup changes, as the guitar duo of Sneap and Faulkner maintain the formula for the band’s potency.

Set list of the show

  • Firepower
  • Running Wild
  • Grinder
  • Sinner
  • The Ripper
  • Lightning Strike
  • Bloodstone
  • Saints in Hell
  • Turbo Lover
  • Freewheel Burning
  • Evil Never Dies
  • Some Heads Are Gonna Roll
  • You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’
  • Hell Bent for Leather
  • Electric Eye
  • Painkiller
  • Encore:
  • Metal Gods (with Glenn Tipton)
  • Breaking the Law (with Glenn Tipton)
  • Living After Midnight (with Glenn Tipton)

Subscribe to our newsletter

To stay updated with all the latest news, and offers.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.